Being Human

being-human-pilot

Pilot Cast

final cast

Final cast

I watched the entire six episode season of Being Human on BBC America a month or so ago with my father. Against my fathers usual taste he enjoyed the show almost as much as I did. Being Human is about three flat mates that have little in common besides being on the fringes or regular society. Mitchell is a vampire, George is a werewolf, and Annie is a ghost. When I found out that the shows original pilot had a different cast (besides George, who was still played by Russel Tovey, I was intrigued and after a few minutes of searching I found the video on some Russian site (direct link). I was surprised to find that although I loved the final cast, the original was delightful in a different way. I loved Guy Flanagan as Mitchell, and Andrea Risebough as Annie, and am not sure why they were recast. Not to say I don’t like the final cast, it’s just that the first one was nice already.

My favorite bit of the pilot was definitely a short pub scene at the end, when the flatmates discuss which Hogwarts house they would belong too…. (thank you imdb)

John Mitchell: So, you’ve just arrived at Hogwarts, which house do they put you in?
George Sands: I’d like to say Gryffindor, but they’re supposed to be brave. What’s the other one? Ravenclaw, does that have a characteristic?
John Mitchell: I think they’re brainy. You could be in Ravenclaw.
Annie: I quite fancy Hufflepuff actually. I’ve always thought in Hufflepuff they just spend the day making stuff with safety scissors and glitter.
George Sands: What about you?
John Mitchell: I think that they’d say. It’s probably best if you just stay in the canteen for the next five years.
Annie: Does anyone ever ‘choose’ Slytherin?
George Sands: No, because that would be like saying ‘I’m a sociopath.’

Leave a Reply

