Alice

I recently watched the new SyFy (formerly Scifi, who stupid is that change?) channel miniseries ALICE. Alice is a retelling of Alice in Wonderland by Lewis Carrol, similar in style to Scifi’s previous miniseries TIN MAN. Just like TIN MAN I loved the modern twist on the classic Alice tale. ALICE is edgy and modern, centering around a modern Alice, and her journey to save her boyfriend Jack from down the rabbit hole. She encounters the White Rabbit, the Queen of Hearts, and most importantly the Mad Hatter, known simply as Hatter. I must admit that Hatter’s dreamy English accent and adorable eccentricity was a big reason I fell in love with this miniseries. There are twists and turns and I recommend this two hour miniseries to any fan of the original Alice, of the fantastical in general, or TIN MAN fan. The production value, acting and entire feel of the show is beyond words. The only thing against ALICE is that I found myself dying for more,  it was only parts to TIN MAN’s three, also there seemed to be a noticeable lack of a Chesire Cat, who I always liked. I do hope that Syfy (I hate writing that, it is just such a silly change from Scifi) continues its series of modern, and grown up retelling of classic tales, ALICE and TIN MAN are the best shows I have ever seen them produce, definitely better than that bizarrely awkward Gargoyle/Nazi film I unfortunately caught the tail end of the other day.

Although I highly recommend buying both TIN MAN and ALICE (once ALICE comes out on DVD, which is hopefully soon), both can be found to watch online relatively easily.

I also must note that I am rather excited about the Tim Burton version of Alice in Wonderland, but not quite as much as before, maybe because I am worried that despite Tim Burton’s prowess at creating mad tales it might now live up to my now very high expectations.

One thought on “Alice

Leave a Reply

