Wearable Muslin: Black Shirtdress

DSC05821

For my second dress I tried out Mccall’s 6696 shirtdress. I was inspired to start this envevorour after seeing beautiful results from Mary on Idle fancy, and the Curvy Sewing Collective, and through her Autumn of 1000 Shirtdresses challenge.

DSC05819

I decided to wait to use the beautiful red fabric that I previewed in my last post in lue of this black fabric I’ve had sitting around for years. technically it turned out wonderfully, other than that its kind of meh. This is mostly due to the dullness of the black fabric. Before pairing it with some green it was kind of a black hole. Luckily my dear Wiley gave me this vintage brooch and clip on earings for valentine’s day. I had seen them at Pack Rat (a local vintage store) maybe a month ago and pointed them out, and to my absolute surprise he gifted them to me this morning! Wiley also took these quick photos of me before we left home to spend the morning running errands.

DSC05827

DSC05829

Back to the dress. It’s taken me about three weeks on and off to make this dress from cutting to finishing the buttons last night. This dress required so many new skills I felt intimidated about 50% of the time. Somehow though with the help of my seam ripper and an attention to details things just kept turning out well. I ended up making a standard size 16 with the D cup option since those measurements seemed to fit. As many other ladies have mentioned it is lovely that this pattern has different cup size options, and the end product did fit. BUT the result was several inches to spare at the waist and a bit of looseness at the arms and shoulders.

DSC05824

This is a bit confusing to me since on the package the waist “Body measurements” for size 16 say 30″ which is already two inches smaller than my actual waist? Being new to the complicated pattern world am I just reading the package wrong on what end measurements should be? I paid close attention to my seam allowances so I don’t think it was that. Another thing. I am not sure why the bust size says 38″ for a 16 on the package but on the chart below (from Mccall’s Website) the smallest chest size for 16 says 42″. Since 38″ is my high bust measurement should I start with that again despite the loose waist? oh the conundrums.

Screen Shot 2015-02-14 at 6.30.47 PM

For my next shirtdress (because of course there will be another) I am going to do somethings differently. I am not exactly sure what I need to do to fix the waist problem or what bust size to start with, but I will report what I’ve decided after figuring it out.

If anyone has advice I would love to hear it!!

3 thoughts on “Wearable Muslin: Black Shirtdress

Leave a Reply

